Revelation #5 Will you worship?

Revelation 4:11

“You are worthy, our Lord and God, to receive glory and honor and power,
for you created all things, and by your will they were created and have their being.”

light-play-at-sundown

One morning, earlier this fall,  I felt particularly down and discouraged. I sat down to do my BSF and pray. I’d been waiting, not so patiently, to see God work. After praying, I looked up and out the window. At that exact moment a hummingbird alighted to feed on some late-blooming flowers in the planter on the deck. I was encouraged.

Yesterday a similar incident gave me pause. I had just heard of a death in my extended family. As I began to prepare dinner, I couldn’t help but feel sad for those she has left behind. My husband turned my attention from the stove to the window. The rain and wind of earlier in the day had settled down and clouds glowed the colour of pewter. Sunlight illuminated the trees and grass, revealing a brilliant contrast between land and sky. Just then, an eagle soared across this stunning scene, right towards our house. It all happened too quickly for the camera, or to even step outside, but it was a breath-taking moment that lifted my spirits.

It is not easy to really imagine heaven, but at times like these, I begin to understand there is some wondrous and real connection between heaven and earth.  Creation tells me so in Psalm 19.

“The heavens declare the glory of God;
the skies proclaim the work of his hands.
Day after day they pour forth speech;
night after night they reveal knowledge.
They have no speech, they use no words;
no sound is heard from them.
Yet their voice[b] goes out into all the earth,
their words to the ends of the world.”

Can we hear what creation is telling us? When we don’t pay attention, it may seem unintelligible, but creation’s declarations have a lot to do with heaven and future things.  All creation is praising God right now and His creatures, including us, will do so forever!

To me, these scenes in my field of earthly vision, were more than a momentary gift, but a challenge to do what all creation is doing and will do forever.

Through His creation, God is asking, will I also worship? Will I praise Him in spite of loss and pain?  When I don’t know what to do or I wonder how and when my prayers will be answered, will I acknowledge the Lamb who sits on the throne? Will I quit being impatient and just worship?

With the winged creatures, the twenty-four elders and all of creation I will sing:

“To him who sits on the throne and to the Lamb be praise and honor and glory and power,
for ever and ever!” (Revelation 5:13b)

 

Note: This series of blogs, while growing out of a “Bible Study Fellowship” (BSF) study of Revelation, is not affiliated or endorsed by BSF. Nor are these blog any sort of definitive theological commentary. The opinions expressed here are simply my own thoughts and reflections on the book and what I am learning from the study.
image: http://www.publicdomainpictures.net/ Light play at sundown

 

 

 

 

Aside | This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

